Frequently Asked Questions

  1. If I am certified as a Black Belt and decide that I would like to become a Master Black Belt, do I have to take the exam again if I met the Master Black Belt requirements on my first attempt?
    No. The IQF does not require you to take another exam to reach a higher certification level if you scores were sufficient on your first exam.
  2. If I re-take the exam in an attempt to reach a higher certification level but score at a certification level below my current level, will I lose my current status?
    No. Your official exam status cannot degrade. Exam certification status will only be updated if there is an improvement.
  3. What resources am I allowed to use for the exam?
    Our certification exams are computer based allowing you to take a test that mimics the real world. You are allowed to use any software, books or calculators that you would use in your daily work.
  4. Do I have to re-certify?
    No your certification is a lifetime achievement. There are no periodic re-certification fees or requirements.
  5. When is the exam offered?
    Whenever you want! The exam is computer based, and you can take it at your convenience.
  6. How long does it take to get my exam results?
    When you complete the exam you receive a code that you can enter into our web site to immediately access your scores.
  7. If I only pass one part of the exam do I have to re-take both parts, or am I allowed to only take the part I did not pass?
    You only re-take the part of the exam you did not pass.
  8. Is there study material available for the exam?
    Some of our affiliates offer study material designed for the exam. Any standard Six Sigma material should be sufficient to obtain a passing score.
  9. What is the difference between the Green Belt, Black Belt and Master Black exams?

There is a single exam for Green Belt, Black Belt and Master Black Belt. The passing score varies by certification level as shown in the table below.

Certification Level Fundamentals Applications
Green Belt 50% 0%
Black Belt 60% 50%
Master Black Belt 75% 75%
Design for Six Sigma (DfSS), Lean Six Sigma, Six Sigma (DMAIC)

Comments are closed.