Design for Six Sigma Certification

Design for Six Sigma (DfSS) is all about prevention. Used by research and product development, DfSS ensures products are designed right the first time. This includes:

  • Understanding the customer
  • Cascading requirements down to sub-systems and components including the supply base
  • Designing to reduce sensitivity to variation
  • Designing for manufacturing capability
  • Verification and validation

The IQF certification exam is nothing like traditional certification exams. Instead, it is a rigorous, computer-based test of your ability to use modern methods to improve business operations. The exam consists of 2 modules:

  1. Fundamentals – short questions & problems designed to test the basic understanding of DfSS tools & concepts.
  2. Applications (not required for Green Belt) – detailed problems designed to test DfSS problem solving ability.

Each of these modules must be completed in 4 hours. The exam is open book, and any computer software may be used.

In addition to the exam, project work and for the Master Black Certification, teaching and mentoring are required as shown in the table below.

Certification Level Project Requirement Teaching & Mentoring Requirement
Green Belt None None
Black Belt 2 Projects None
Master Black Belt 2 Projects Two years of teaching and mentoring including 8 mentored projects and 80 hours of teaching.

Use the links below to learn more about DfSS certification.

Comments are closed.